ANCHOR DOWN

I can remember my first game with ESPN like it was yesterday.

The guy I intern with does free lance work with ESPN. He called me up one day and said I have a great opportunity for you if you’re interested. OF COURSE I had to jump on this before it went away. He said they needed a utility worker for the Vanderbilt-Charleston Southern football game. i had no idea what that entitled but I had to do it.

Essentially I was the cable guy for the cameraman on the field. Anytime that he moved, I moved. I followed behind him and would coil up the cable and give slack when he needed it. It was first time working with ESPN and I decided it wouldn’t be my last either.

This started a long relationship with me and ESPN for years to come.

Vanderbilt's Football Stadium
Vandy’s Football Stadium 

 

Leave a Reply

